The History of AUArts Students' Association

The arts university known since February 1, 2019 as Alberta University of the Arts (AUArts) began over ninety years ago (1926) as part of the Provincial Institute of Technology and Arts, today known as SAIT.

We have gone through quite a few changes. From 1926 to 1985 we remained a department of SAIT, until the provincial government and student body worked together to gain autonomy for the school. The Alberta College of Art (ACA) was declared a separate institution, under the jurisdiction of the Alberta Colleges Act (1980). In 1995, ACA was renamed to the Alberta College of Art + Design (ACAD), to better represent the college’s new range of undergraduate degrees and later graduate degrees.

Alberta University of the Arts achieved university status March 1, 2018 and its new university name was granted Royal Assent in the Alberta Legislature on December 11, 2018. Alberta University of the Arts Students’ Association (AUArts SA) began it first official day of operations under it’s new title on Friday, February 1, 2019.

>>More information about the Alberta University of the Arts

The AUArts Students Association (then the ACAD Students’ Association) was formed in 1995 with Suzanne Agopsowicz as AUArts SA’s first President – a key fighter for autonomy. Thanks to her hard work, AUArts SA has been a voice for students for over 25 years.

Our semiannual elections ensure that the voices of the student body remain representative, and fresh.

The Students’ Association leadership is composed of an elected Student Leadership Council and an Executive Committee, as well as part- and full-time staff members.

We are the Alberta University of the Arts Students’ Association

Formerly the Alberta College of Art + Design Students’ Association (ACADSA)

Oki, in the spirit of respect and truth, we will take a moment to honor and acknowledge Moh’kinsstis and the traditional Treaty 7 territory of the Blackfoot confederacy: Siksika, Kainai, Piikani as well as the Stoney Nakoda  and Tsuut’ina nations. We acknowledge the members of the Métis community and specifically, the Métis Nation Region Three. Finally in the spirit of reconciliation and because we are all treaty people, we also acknowledge all people who make our homes in the traditional Treaty 7 territory of Southern Alberta.

– Updated February 6, 2019